CO YO are best-known for their coconut milk yoghurt alternative and its thick and creamy texture is a hit with many vegans. However, it has been revealed by the Food Standards Agency that some of the CO YO products contained ‘undeclared’ milk, posing a risk to allergy sufferers and vegans who choose not to consume dairy for ethical reasons.
A spokesperson from the FSA said: “These products contain milk making them a possible health risk for anyone with an allergy or intolerance to milk or milk constituents.
“CO YO is recalling the above products from customers and has contacted the relevant allergy support organisations, which will tell their members about the recall.
“The company has also issued a point-of-sale notice to its customers. These notices explain to customers why the products are being recalled and tell them what to do if they have bought the products.
“If you have bought any of the above products and have an allergy or intolerance to milk or milk constituents do not eat it. Instead return it to the store from where it was bought for a full refund.”
CO YO have tweeted about the incident saying: “We are so devastated to say traces of dairy has been found in our CO YO products. If you have any CO YO products with a Use By date earlier than the 16.03.18 please contact your store for a full refund. We are here to answer any questions and are so sorry for the inconvenience.”