Subscribe now

Subscribe today and receive a FREE GIFT:
Two bottle starter box from Splosh, worth £9.95

Issue-31-Digital-72dpi WEB

Debate: Should We Worry About Cross Contamination?

We pick out some popular debates in the vegan world and tackle them head-on. This time, we look at cross contamination.

 

Should we worry about cross contamination?

A product is either vegan or it isn’t.

A government report published last November showed some foods labelled ‘may contain traces of milk’ actually contained much larger amounts – enough in fact, to be unsuitable for those suffering from dairy allergies.

Julian Lucas is the sales and marketing manager for vegan company Plamil, which produces completely dairy-free chocolate, and has been lauded by various organisations for its ethical practices. As well as its own range of vegan chocolate and mayonnaise, the company makes bulk chocolate for industry such as bakers, caterers and chocolatiers.

He says: “Why is a little bit or torture ok? A major difference between the vegetarian and vegan diet, as promoted by the Vegan Society itself is the cruelty of the dairy industry, so why approve a product just because it only has a ‘tiny’ bit of milk in it?

“After all, it is possible for companies to create chocolate on dairy-free premises, it is just more expensive for them to do so. But if you are a company selling vegan products, you should adhere to a higher standard. The responsibility lies with the manufacturers to make a vegan product, rather than the consumer, who should be able to buy a marked, vegan product, and be confident that it is in fact, as far as possible, free of animal derivatives.”

According to Julian, it is impossible to completely get away from all animal products. “For example,” he says, “there can be insects in harvested crops. But if it’s possible to produce something without animal products, that should be the vegan benchmark.

“For me, calling a product vegan means it doesn’t have milk in it. It’s about doing everything practicable to make the food as ethical as possible.”

 

This is about minimising suffering to sentient beings. If a product is labelled ‘may contain’ what that means is it was made in the same factory another, non-vegan product was made in.

Amanda Baker, senior advocacy officer at the Vegan Society says: “We have a trademark that can go on products deemed suitable for vegans.

“About eight years ago, we checked with the Food Standards Agency (FSA) which was at that time in charge of food allergy labelling, and the organisation agreed that ‘may contain’ type statements can be consistent with a ‘suitable for vegans’ label.

According to Amanda, the purpose, and ultimate aim of, the Vegan Society is to end the use and abuse of non-human animals by human animals. So the main issues that would preclude items being trademarked as vegan would have to intentionally contain products derived from animals, or be a product of ‘careless’ cross contamination.

“The term ‘careless’ cross contamination refers to manufacturing process,” explains Amanda. “There are recognised practices for specific products, in terms of manufacturing, and how machinery is cleaned. As I understand it, during chocolate manufacture, machines can’t be washed down with soap and water, so after dairy chocolate is made on the line, dark chocolate that will be mixed into the dairy is used, followed by the dark chocolate that will be vegan trademarked.

“We’re not looking at creating a ‘clean bubble’ in the same way someone with an allergy is.

“This is about avoiding animal ingredients as far as is possible and practical. When harvesting crops, there will be some cross contamination with insects, despite best industry practices being in place. It’s not desirable, but it’s unavoidable.”

 

We have presented you with two sides of the argument, but what do you think?

Have your say below…

 

Posted in ,

Leave a Comment





Advertisement

Join the Vegan Life Newsletter

We will keep you updated with the latest vegan news and interesting items.